Go Bottom

Rotary Cutter Blade Sharpening

View my Photos
Rob
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2000-08-02          18466

Just got my JD790 last night! I feel like my six year old on Christmas day. First of many questions: Do the rotary cutter blades need to be sharpened? I got the JD513 cutter and the blades are nice and thick with a very round profile on the leading edge. Seems to me it ought to be sharp, but I'm new at this. Any thoughts from you seasoned pros? Thanks, Rob.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Bird Senter

2000-08-02          18472

Rob, rotary cutter blades are never as sharp as a lawnmower blade. They're designed to "break" or "tear" off small trees and brush, as well as grass and weeds. If yours is new, the blades certainly don't need sharpening. If you put a sharp edge on them, like a lawnmower blade, you'll very quickly get nicks and gouges in the thin edge if you use it the way most of us do. Of course, if you know you're only going to be cutting grass and weeds, without hitting any brush, small trees, stumps, rocks, etc., then you can put a sharp edge on them if you want to. ....

View my Photos
Jeff

2000-08-02          18476