Go Bottom

My job just went offshore

View my Photos
49tandc
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2005-05-10          110916

I workED as a trainer for a Call Center (high attrition at call centers keep trainers employed). Last August, I was asked if I would go to Manila (in the Philipines) and train college graduates over there to do the same thing as our workers (Mostly GED graduates) here. (we pay $7/hr to start, Manila pays $2/hr to start) I had a moral/ethical dilema regarding training others to take jobs away from Americans, but you do what the boss tells you to do. I was told "no way will you lose your job - We'll get another client in here and still need top quality training..."

I was not allowed to discuss any on this with my co-workers (knowing some of them, with families, would be out of a job) because the company was afraid they'd loose the staff BEFORE the company wanted the staff to reduce.

Anyway, I go to Manila, do a good job of training the staff there and guess what happened???? I'm layed-off - as there is no need for a trainer. The company has been trying to get a new Client in this location since Sept '05 and has lots of empty seats (not good for profit-margin in a call center), but no success yet.

I understand the economics of $2/hr versus $7/hr labor market, but think that the offsahore call centers would be best suited taking Asian calls (China is biggest market) and let American customers speak/deal with American representatives.