Go Bottom

Hydraulic Oil Top Off

View my Photos
FarmerWannabe
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-07-05          29831

My hydrualic oil dipstick indicates that my fluid level is low. As the oil looks very clean and I am a novice, I am not ready to change out the oil. I also didn't want to buy a big 5 gallon bucket if I didn't need it yet. The guy in the autoparts store sold me some hydraulic jack oil and said it would work fine. Made sense to me but I wanted to check with the experts. Thanks for your input.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Hydraulic Oil Top Off

View my Photos
mlmartin

2001-07-05          29834

I would consider using hydraulic jack oil only as an emergency use fluid. Think about the difference in usage. Jack oil is seldom worked enough to get hot and is not a continuous duty fluid. The additives in HyTran or equivalent are there to provide characteristics that are required for good performance in a tractor. I doubt that Jack oil has the same ones.
--
As I said, I'm not against using something in an emergency. I ran out of power steering/power brake fluid in my older Audi. It was on a Sunday, 150 miles from home. They only place I could get mineral oil was a pharmacy. USP mineral oil got me safely home and prevented me from burning out a very expensive pump on the way.
--
Matthew ....

Hydraulic Oil Top Off

View my Photos
BillBass

2001-07-05          29835

I would be very careful of adding a fluid that did not match the manufacturer's requirements or match the fluid already in the tractor. You can buy hydraulic fluid in one gallon containers. I periodically buy a gallon for my JD and add a little as it leaks out. ....

Hydraulic Oil Top Off

View my Photos
Rick

2001-07-05          29839