Go Bottom

starting out

View my Photos
jonniecat
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-07-31          60561

Hi one and all. I'm new to this whole thing so please be patient if I look stupid. I just bought 4 acers of mostly flat( with some gentle rolls) land. I am looking to buy a compact tractor to mow the grass ( finish or brush hog), move snow (we don't get a whole lot here), and general landscape work. I would like to put a loader on it as well as the standard rear attatchments. I have looked at a few Yanmars and Mitsubishis. I am naturally on a budget so I would like to stay away from the expensive brands. Does anyone have an opinion on what would be a good one to look for? Stay away from? Advice? ETC. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

starting out

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-07-31          60571

If you have the budget for it, some of the smaller brands like Century, Branson, and Kioti seem to be fairly reliable machines as well and are less expensive than Kubota/Deere/NH. I wouldn't go that route, though, unless you have a good dealer or are mechanically inclined. I'm not very familiar with these brands product lines or those of Mitsubishi and Yanmar. Since most small Deere's are Yanmar there may be some degree of parts interchangeability there.

FWIW, when I hear "brush hog" I automatically think minimum 30 engine hp with 25 pto hp.

Then again, I've only been at this for a couple of months :)

starting out

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-07-31          60573