Go Bottom

Gator burning oil

View my Photos
foxfarmboy
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2009-09-29          166048

My Gator is burning oil and fowling plugs. If I run it for a few hours it could run out of oil. Does this sound like a cylinder problem or a carb problem or a gasket somewhere? We just replaced the engine block for the same problem they said the cylinders were worn out. This machine is a 2000 or 2001 Trail gator 6x4 with kawasaki motor. I am not a mechanic but the mechanic didn't fix it so I am looking for help.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Gator burning oil

View my Photos
gatoraider

2009-09-30          166054

Obviously a replacement block shouldn't be burning oil like that. Valve seals could cause it, but not to that extent. If it's fouling plugs, oil is getting into the cylinder. And since you are running out of oil, that shoots the gas theory. There's not much left after rings and seals. If your replacement block was new or rebuilt, I think you have a beef with the guy that did it. ....

Gator burning oil

View my Photos
foxfarmboy

2009-09-30          166063

That's the problem. The mechanic who did it works for himself and I'm sure won't stand good for it. I wonder if the rings just didn't seat there is probably only ten hours on it since the replacement. What would you do? ....

Gator burning oil

View my Photos
gatoraider

2009-09-30          166066