Go Bottom

John Deere 2520 backhoe

View my Photos
nightrider69
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2007-11-06          147884

I'm buying an 2520 and wan't some feedback from anyone who owns and uses the backhoe on a 2520 o an 2320. I'm an electrical contractor and would be digging three feet from anywhere fron 30 to 200 feetong. How do you move the backhoe to continue digging? do you leave the tractor in neutral and push back with the bucket? How fast can you dig and how much power does it have? Any feedback would be appreciated
Thanks
Mike

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

John Deere 2520 backhoe

View my Photos
nosteiner4me
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-11-11          148105

think a guy on here ducati996 has the tractor with the backhoe you are wanting. He could tell you all the specifics about the tractor. Can you demo the tractor with the backhoe for couple hours to see if it will do what you want.? I did just that with my 2520 and worked out great.
Good luck. ....

John Deere 2520 backhoe

View my Photos
DRankin
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-11-11          148107

I have the virtually same tractor (4115) with Deere's 46 Backhoe.

You really have to get off change seats and move the machine with the drive train. At least I do.... two main reasons:

1) You have to plant the FEL straight into the ground to support the tractor while digging, and.........

2) The operators area is directly under a rather narrow ROPS and there is no room to turn your body to manipulate the those controls.

Besides, when I stick the B/H bucket into the ground it just digs rather than trying to pull the tractor, even if the tractor is free to roll.