Go Bottom

Left Hand Gear shift stuck John Deere 2440 tractor

View my Photos
Sandersm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2014-05-01          190224

John Deere 2440 tractor with two stick gear shifts. For some reason I cannot get the left handed stick to move, making it impossible to put the tractor in half it's gears (including reverse). It feels entirely jammed or locked in. The right handed stick moves perfectly.

THIS COULD BE A VERY SIMPLE FIX, I AM NEW TO THIS TRACTOR MODEL.
ANY HELP OR ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
kthompson
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2014-05-01          190231

First welcome to TP.

Did this happen at a once? Or got worse over time?
You can not move the lever period, right? If so then suspect something in the trans is damaged. Then it may be in a jammed due a load on it when you parked it or such.

Now if the lever moves and does not shift look for a roll pin missing from shift lever or linkage.

With engine off, and may need help, try rocking the tractor with pressure on the lever and see if that frees it. Possible something such as trash or rust has it stuck and rocking may free it. kt ....

View my Photos
Sandersm

2014-05-01          190234

It happened at once.
I can force the lever into the neutral slot but it is not really shifting, just bending.
So if the issue is that the trans is damaged, what would be the best course of action?
I will definitely try rocking it slightly.
THANK YOU ....

View my Photos
jdgreen

2014-05-02          190239