Go Bottom

Need advice before Buying Ford NH 1720 tractor

View my Photos
Lou
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

1999-12-01          10534

I have the chance to purchase a Ford 1720 tractor with a front end loader and heated hardshelled cab. It has 480 hrs and was used primarily to clear sidewalks by a small town. The dealer said the tractor looks very clean and would be a good buy for $15,000. I have no experience with tractors of any size but I have been pricing them and this appears to be a decent deal for the size machine. It is very difficult to locate used compact tractors in my area. How is the reputation for the Fords in particular the 1720 model? Is it a dependable tractor for starting and snow removal? The dealer also had a JD 770 for $11,800 which I was considering but the Ford looked so much bigger and had alot more options for an additional $3,200. Please give some comments on the quality of the Ford and is there any comparison of the JD and Ford or are they just two different machines not comparable?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
tractorman

1999-12-01          10551

I saw your post. you should contact me if your in the northeastern U.S. I have a like new New Holland 1630 Tractor w/ 100 hrs. for sale. Others coming in as well. Thanks ....

View my Photos
lprock25

1999-12-02          10562

I wanted to add to my original post that the Ford 1720 is a 1994. Who built the fords in 1994 was it the same company as 1999 or different. Was 1994 a good or bad year for Ford tractors. Some people around here say they have no complaints with their ford compacts. Is there a difference between the Ford 1720 and the NH 1720 or is it the same machine? ....

View my Photos
Don

1999-12-02          10593

Lou,