Go Bottom

Looking for a resource for garden attachments

View my Photos
dinman127263
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2005-08-08          114495

Hi. I'm a newbie to tractors and gardening, and would like to get some information about ploughs, mouldboard ploughs, tillers, disc harrows, cultivators etc. Basically, what do each do and which do I really need for a successful garden? I've got a Simplicity Legacy XL 27hp diesel with a 3-point category 1 hitch. I've read what I could find online, but am hoping to get a good definitive article defining all these attachments and exactly what each is best suited for. Thanks alot!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
yooperpete
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-08-08          114499

For gardening, a PTO driven 3 point tiller is probably best suited for your application. This will get the soil ready for planting. A small walk behind tiller for going between the rows after planting is also beneficial. ....

View my Photos
yooperpete
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-08-08          114501

A mouldboard plow is old technology and lots less expensive than a tiller. Your tractor will be able to pull a single bottom (one mouldboard) and possibly a two bottom in sandy soils. You would normally plow 6-8" deep and this turns the soil over. It is good implement to break up new land and cover old crops like corn stalks. By flipping over the soil, the stalk for instance breaks down and rots creating nutrients for the soil. You would usually fall plow.