Go Bottom

3 PT Question

View my Photos
activeirrigation
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-08-28          94816

Hey everyone.

I'm an irrigation contractor and need to be able to trench 2-1/2" wide by 8" deep over long distances (some subdivision entrances can total almost 3/4 of a mile). I'm in Myrtle Beach, SC so I mostly trench in dirt/sand or gumbo clay. (very few rocks but some healthy roots)

I have a craftsman GT5000 garden tractor with a 27 hp engine and extra heavy duty manual transmission. I'm thinking of mounting the Bolton power equipment 3 pt PTO trencher on an Agri-Fab 3 point trailer and towing it behind the tractor. The trailer has a winch to raise and lower the trencher. The trencher requires at lease 21hp at the PTO turning at either 540 or 1000 rpm.

I think that I could mount an engine with some type of clutch mechanism (or hydraulics?) to take the place of a tractor's PTO.
I don't have a lot of knowledge as to engines, transmissions, hydraulics, etc so what I need to know is this:

If an ordinary engine turning at 3600 rpm is rated at 4hp will it achieve 24hp if it's geared down to 600 rpm (standard 6:1 reduction available from most engine manufacturers)It seems to me that it should based on the formula: HP = Torque X (RPM/63025); and

What would be the best way to connect the 3 pt trencher implement to the engine (belts, geared clutch, hydraulics, etc).

I sure would appreciate any help anyone can give me.

Thanks

Gene

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

3 PT Question

View my Photos
oneace
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-28          94844

I think you are opening a can of worms. There are too many factors to consider. My advice: Ditch the craftsman and get a true tractor. The less head ache in trying to make some thing work the better, then that equals more money in your pock in the long run. ....