Go Bottom

SNOW PLOW MANUFACTURES AND SIZE

View my Photos
ESCHLAK
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-07-31          92392

I currently have a Kubota HS5700 (21 hp). I live in VT so snowfalls can be quite large and frequent. My driveway is 2100' and all uphill. Are there any manufactures that make fork mount plows other than Curtis ? I've also been told not to go larger than 5' due to snow weight. I keep thinking whats 1 more foot, it just 6" each side.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
earthwrks
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-01          92463

I have a 4x4 33hp New Holland. And I'm a snow plowing contractor in Michigan. I wouldn't even consider using a tractor, or even a bobcat (skidsteer loader--have one too) to plow snow. It's not practical considering the weight of the tractor not to mention traction---let alone stopping. For the price of a good plow setup you can buy a 4x4 truck with a plow. I have even seen guys with 2wd dually trucks weighted down plowing---but there's nothing like 4wd when it comes to snow and ice. I use a 8-1/2' BOSS v-plow on my '03 Dodge diesel and love it. It's made in the upper penninsula of Michigan where snow is measured in yards, not feet, or inches. ....

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-03          92600

I'm going to be the dissenting opinion on this thread, I can see it coming.

We have plowed commercially for years with CUT's equipped with FEL & frame-mounted plows. See my pic. # 6. In certain instances they will plow circles around a pickup truck with a plow on it.