Go Bottom

808 CadDigger

View my Photos
Terry Henderson
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-02-10          49011

I am thinking of purchasing the 808 Caddigger plan. Can someone who has let me know if it was a good choice. Does the 808 perform well? Also what size of a welder is needed. 225 amp stick welder?

Thanks

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

808 CadDigger

View my Photos
TomG

2003-02-11          49035

Bill is the resident expert here. I think he built the same model. I think there is a running account of the project and pictures in the archives that would be good to read. Bill probably will comment as well. ....

808 CadDigger

View my Photos
BillMullens
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-02-11          49038

Terry,
I'm far from an expert, but I did build a model 708. I documented the project at the link below.
I bought a Lincoln 225 AC just for this project, and it was well worth it. Cadplans recommends a stick welder and 7018 rods.
The 708 performs well, but I would welcome the increased reach and strength of the 808; the bigger one would just be too big for my TC29. I don't have a front end loader (yet) and the hoe makes the front end very light, even with 350 pounds of front ballast.
And, I guess that this topic will never come up without the dangers of 3-point hitch backhoes being mentioned. The CadPlans hoes don't have a hold-down as part of the plans. In other words, since the 3ph has no down pressure, the only downward force you have is the weight of the backhoe with you on it. More than that, and it just lifts you and the hoe up. This is potentially dangerous. Also, 3ph hoes are controversial regarding damage they may inflict on compact tractors. This is a good forum to learn more.
Hope it helps,
Bill ....

Link:   Caddigger 708 construction

808 CadDigger

View my Photos
Terry Henderson

2003-02-11          49092