Go Bottom

Fitting JD 8A BH onto a NH TC40D tractor

View my Photos
tiggerpoz
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-08-17          62029

I've got a John Deere 950 tractor with a Deere 8A backhoe. I'm wanting to buy a New Holland TC40D tractor & want to transfer the backhoe to the new tractor. The new tractor is plenty big enough to handle the 8A, but I'm wondering if adapting the 8A subframe & the tractor to each other might have unforseen difficulties.
---Is this a reasonable thing to do or more trouble than it's worth?

thanks!
Tig

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-08-17          62032

Are you buying a new TC40? If so, one problem will be that you will probably void the warranty if you try to do so. I'm not an expert but it seems to me it would be far more trouble than it's worth, because if you don't get the subframe right and distribute the stresses properly you could damage the new tractor.

View my Photos
Art White
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-08-18          62078

Tig, I can understand from many sides why to do it. I also know better from another side why not to! ....

View my Photos
tiggerpoz

2003-08-19          62172

I hadn't considered the possible warranty problem. I wonder if tractor manufacturers void warranties if an aftermarket 3ph backhoe is used? They're much harder on a tractor than a subframe type. How about aftermarket FELs? If you buy a new NH tractor from a dealer & also buy a bushhog FEL from the dealer who installs it on your tractor, have you voided your warranty? Doesn't seem like they'd be selling aftermarket FELs & BHs at dealerships if these voided warranties.