Go Bottom

Limits of the Box Scraper

View my Photos
wva-dsk
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2006-09-17          135231

I have a small piece of land in WV that's pretty flat, but does have one holler running through it which needs a road put up it. I'm wondering if I can avoid hiring a dozer to push a road up in there by using a box scraper instead.

It seems to me that if I went back and forth along the hillside in the holler (not too steep but steep enough that it needs work) with a box scraper, and lots of patience, then I should be able to work a narrow road bed into the hill over time. I've never used a box scraper before so maybe I'm asking too much of the device. Anyone have any thoughts here, or an alternative approach to getting the job done?

Thanks
WVA-DSK

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
greg_g
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-09-17          135233

I'd be inclined to think the dozer is the right tool for that job. Get it done right the first time, then use the box blade for regular road maintenance

//greg// ....

View my Photos
Peters
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-09-17          135235

I had a small dozer in and loader and was moving earth from the front to the back of the house. In levelling I could move earth as quickly as the dozer, but in deep cuts there was no way.
If you have a heavy box blade, teeth,hydraulic top link and possibly side link, you could probably do it fairly quickly.

View my Photos
dsg

2006-09-17          135236

A Box Blade ain't no dozer with a six way blade.

David ....

View my Photos
wva-dsk

2006-09-17          135237