Go Bottom

Mid PTO hydraulic pump 2000rpm question

View my Photos
8NBoom
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2010-03-24          169480

I couldn't find a better place to ask this so I picked Tractor Implements.
I recently bought a 8N boomer and it has a mid pto. I have no use for it and no plans for a mower. I have a bucket so likely wont put a snow blower on the front either. I was thinking how I'd like more hydraulic power though and wondered if I could put a PTO pump on there so that my back pto is left free. Does anyone know if this can be done or has been done? Any pros/cons? I'm thinking if I could get enough volume I'd put a hydraulic snowblower on the bucket mounts since I already have one for bobcat.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
hardwood

2010-03-24          169487

8NBoom;
I'm far from an expert on hydraulics but I have home built quite a few hydraulic drives for farm augers, etc. I have a 4310 Deere with the mid PTO and have a pump, universal shaft, the bracket pieces cut to hold the pump etc. My goal is to operate a side mount small rotary mower to trim road ditch banks with while keeping the tractor on the level.
I got my pump from the Surplus Center, they have a website and catalogs, plus some very helpfull people to walk you thru what you're wanting to do. The catalog shows the pump displacement per revolution to help you get a rough flow rate by taking the displacement times the RPM. Some pumps work in one rotation directon only. Some will work either way, you need to know that too. You'll need a bypass relief valve somewhere on the pressure side of the pump and a resorvor for the fluid. By using the blower in the winter you may get by without a radiator to cool the fluid.