Go Bottom

4100 and roll overs

View my Photos
Kevin Squires
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-07-11          29983

I have only owned my 4100 for a month or so and its use so far has been limited to some bucket work and a very little mowing work. I must say, I am not getting a good feel for this tractor on hillsides yet. The slightest incline feels like the whole thing is going to roll. I am extremely aware of any side slopes while mowing and I always try to approach bucket work from a perpendicular approach. Several times, I have shoveled fill into my bucket because I have been afraid of rolling the tractor while trying to pick up fill slightly off center. I am new to tractors and sitting on it seems like there is a very high center of gravity. Feels like J.D. should sell outriggers! Does anyone have a story that might give some sense as to what it takes to roll a 4100?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

4100 and roll overs

View my Photos
Eddie Suckow

2001-07-11          29986

I too am leary on my 7205 Cub Cadet, with only a 48" wheel base. I have been thinking about getting some type of inclinometer to put on the dash, anyone heard of something like this? ....

4100 and roll overs

View my Photos
Bart H.

2001-07-11          29993

I have worked a JD 4200 with an FEL and 3 point Bush Hog. With only the (bucket full)loader attached I have done the 3 -wheel thing. Quite scary, but no disaster because the front axle will pivot only so far before the tractor rolls. So far.
I have found that when using the loader a 3 point ballest box improves tractor stability.
On the other hand, when using the Bush Hog I have encountered many uncomfortable situations where I felt the need to "back out" on grades that my JD 210 can handle. Not sure how accurate the tilt-o-meter between my ears is, but make it a practice to wear the seat belt just in case.