Go Bottom

buying a tractor

View my Photos
VAW115
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2007-03-24          140700

I am new to the land of tractors and thought some of you
could help with a question. I have 10 heavily wooded acres and need to remove quite a few pine and juniper stumps. I have been looking in the 25-30 hp range (Big Three)w/BH.
Is this range too small for the task?

Thanks,

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

buying a tractor

View my Photos
hardwood

2007-03-24          140703

YAW115; How big are the stumps? What do you want tne tractor to do after the stumps are gone? Tell us more. Stumps bigger than 18 inch diamater are going to be a real challenge for that size hoe. perhaps hire someone with a full size hoe to take care of the stumps, then if you still want a hoe one of that size will handle 99% of what you need done. Glad to hear you're staying with the big three, you will get better resale, better dealer networks with readily avaiable parts are a big part of tractor ownership. All three are good machines, but again my old sermon on dealers. do a bit of research on LOCAL dealers, how long have they been in business, the personality of the sales staff, well established service dept. etc.. Ask around people will tell you of the good and bad dealer experiences. What ever brand you buy, sooner or later it will need service, that's where a good local dealer is real important to your ownership experience. A bargan price two states away don't mean much when you need service today. Enjoy what you buy. Frank. ....

buying a tractor

View my Photos
loiseau

2007-03-24          140704