Go Bottom

Is a JD 770 too big for 5 acres and a lawn

View my Photos
DennisCTB
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2001-05-29          28748

Posted by Webmaster for ?I have a line on a 770, and being a novice, I have a couple of questions. I will be using the tractorprimarily for mowing (approximatly 3.5 acres), moving snow, moving dirt and grading our driveway. I also planon getting a log splitter. Is this too much tractor, coworkers of my wife think so.ThanksYou Can Click Below to see the Message

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Dane
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-05-30          28763

Is there such a thing as too big??? If there is enough room in your yard to turn around then the tractor is not too big. ....

View my Photos
TomG

2001-05-30          28769

A 770 probably is a bit smaller than my Ford 1710 that I use on about the same area but over two properties. My wife things the 1710 is too big for the 1.75- acre property at our house but about right for our camp. She's right from her perspective, because I mow with a riding mower. It would take too long to maneuver the 1710 around buildings and bushes, and would leave too much trimming as well. However, the 1710 is about right for the rest of the work I do. I wouldn't want to put a backhoe on something much smaller. The 6' box scraper is about right for grading (smaller isn't as good for doing side-grades). I sometimes move heavy implements and pallets of building materials with a 3ph forklift. You can't take a pallet of cement blocks off a flatbed with anything much smaller. If you're planning to run a splitter from tractor hydraulics, pump capacity becomes an issue. A small tractor with a relatively small pump may not run a splitter at an acceptable speed. ....

View my Photos
Scott Amyx

2001-05-30          28775