Go Bottom

Cheap Tractor for 5 acr horse pastures

View my Photos
dirty
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-09-02          41920

I currently have a 12 hp Sears lawn tractor that just bit the dust (finally). I now need to find a new tractor for my 5 acres, all cleared, horse pasture.

The old lawn tractor was grossly underpowered for my property. I was considering a cheap grey tractor (Yanmar, Iseki) instead of buying a top of the line Sears lawn tractor.

Besides cutting, I would also like to grate my dirt road.

I only have $3-4k max to spend, which limits my tractor selection. I just want to make sure I buy the right tractor for the job.

Also, I'm an old lawn tractor tech; I have small engine and tractor repair experience.

Any suggestions?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
DRankin
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-09-02          41935

I have not seen much in that price range. When I was looking at grey market machines seems like they were in the $6000-$8000 range. And some of them did not have a modern three point hitch. Your price range might get you a 25-30 year old compact with 14 horses and a lot of hours on the clock.
Check out some of the new small Kubotas and Deeres. Right now a 0 down, $10,000 loan with kubota credit will cost under $200 a month. Good luck. Mark ....

View my Photos
JimP

2002-09-02          41936