Go Bottom

Tieing Down a CUT Tractor

View my Photos
bmeyer
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-07-05          113066

What is the best way to tie down a CUT on my tandem trailer? Chain or web belts? Where is the best place to hook the chain/belt to the tractor?

I'm a rookie at all this - so I'm being very cautious.

Any suggestions will be appreciated!!

B. Meyer

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
BillMullens
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-07-05          113068

I don't know what's best, but here is what I do.

I put a clevis on the swinging drawbar on the back and either run a chain through it or hook a 2" wide rachet strap to it and snug it up. Then, I use two tie down loops (web straps about a foot long with big "D" rings on each end) along with two rachet straps to tie down the front end. Some of my tractors don't have convenient spots on the front to hook a ratchet strap, and you aren't supposed to wrap the strap around anything and then hook it to itself; that's the reason for the tie down loops. On my CUT, I put the loops around the front bumper. After securing the front and snugging it up, I'll make sure the tractor is out of gear and the brakes are off, and use the ratchet straps to tighten it up; then put it back in gear and set the parking brake.

Good luck,
Bill ....

View my Photos
Murf

2005-07-05          113069

Just as Bill does, we use a clevis through the drawbar to bind down the rear end. On the front end, if it's equipped with a FEL, we slip a chain through the tube brace that runs side to side in the boom arms, if there is no FEL then we have a die lifting eye (a big cast iron loop with a threaded stem like a bolt, VERY strong) bolted through the front bumper.