Go Bottom

What size winch

View my Photos
K AM
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-02-16          49373

I have a 24ft deckover trailer rated for 10,000#.What size model and kind would be good? I have no experience with winches.I want to be able to load something as heavy as a 1 ton crewcab dually.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

What size winch

View my Photos
ruger454

2003-03-07          50734

My thoughts are for the most uses approach, get at least a 10000# winch and mount a receiver and wiring leads to front and rear of truck and also on the front of the trailer. Then you can slip the winch in any of the locations and load the trailer or pull the truck out from front or rear all with one winch. While also being able to store the winch when you don't need it. If you don't need to pull your truck out ever than just go with the rear setup and trailer mount since most trucks already have a receiver in the rear anyway. With the trailer hooked to the truck the winch can pull something up on the trailer. ....

What size winch

View my Photos
ruger454

2003-03-07          50735

They say to get a winch 1 1/2 times the weight of the vehicle you are trying to get loaded or unstuck in most 4x4 applications. I should have answered the original ?. Make sure your charging system is up to the task as winches draw a lot of juice. ....

What size winch

View my Photos
K AM

2003-03-08          50785

Ruger454 Thanks for the ideas on the winch mounts and the heavier winch makes since also.I will start my search for one soon Thanks K AM ....

What size winch

View my Photos
Jeff Earthwerks Unli

2003-03-14          51172