Go Bottom

Welding Aluminum

View my Photos
WillieH
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-01-27          123646

Ok, I have seen the previous postings about welding AL with gas, and duly noted the expertise. The closest that I desire to have contact with gas is after eating a bowl of Hot chili !!! lol

Seriously though, I have been welding for some 30 years, but never AL...rather steel usually. Recently started with a TIG, but, it wasn't mine though I did get rather proficient with it, and had to leave it behind.

My question is this. I have a Lincln AC225 Box. I have been told, that I cannot weld AL with it, as it needs DC for the proper weld current. (I vaguely remember such info from my shop instructor some, ahem, 30 years ago)
Just reading an article in the "Miller Welding" Catalog about a unit called the "Econotig". This affords AC/DC TIG/Stick welding. In the text, it reads "AC output for AL welding and DC output for mild/stainless steel".

Hmmm, I want to weld AL, but now am somewhat befuddled. Anyone know if I can weld AL with my AC unit with AL stick, or must I reinvest in a different unit for ? $500.00 - $1500.00 or more?

Thanks for the input

- Willie H

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Welding Aluminum

View my Photos
jdcman
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2006-01-28          123697

Willie,

To TIG AL you'll need a unit capable of AC with HF. The High Frequency is used to maintain the arc during the sinewave transitions from positive to negative. On the newer inverter machines having the HF on continues isn't necessary --- these machines use square waves with fast edges.

I always advise folks to buy bigger than they think they will need in terms of machine capability.

A good approximation is about an amp per one thousands of an inch in material thickness.