Go Bottom

Clark 110 V Arc Welder

View my Photos
RichieC
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2008-02-25          151670

Anyone here have any opinion on this welding unit? I am looking to purchase an arc welder for occassional use around the workshop. Northern Supply has it in stock & I am contemplating a purchase. Thanks.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Clark 110 V Arc Welder

View my Photos
BillMullens
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-02-26          151695

I have no experience with the Clark equipment but had a 110v Forney welder that I used for several years. It was adequate for material up to 3/16" thick; it would weld 1/4" but at a low duty cycle. You would have to run a couple of beads then let it cool down or it would pop the built-in thermocouple. It would use 6013 rods fine but didn't like 6011's. I built a utility trailer with it but still keep an eye on the welds.

Most welders aren't fond of the 110-v machines because of their limited usefulness; they are going to tell you to get a 220V AC/DC machine. The 110 machine has the advantage of being cheaper to buy and also the ability to use it anywhere you have an outlet. If you don't plan to use it on thick material you'll be fine.

I didn't find out until I bought a 220V Lincoln AC welder that the smaller machine is harder to weld with; you have to practice striking an arc without the electrode sticking.

Good luck,
Bill ....

Clark 110 V Arc Welder

View my Photos
earthwrks
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-02-26          151697